Posted by: eaubeauhorn | December 26, 2012

Prowler last night

I was awake this morning at 2 a.m. watching TV, because of something I ate that I shouldn’t have. I heard a loud bang that sounded like something pretty big hitting my garage, and I went outside in case someone had been hurt. I hadn’t heard a car though.

I stepped outside my door and heard someone walking just behind the junipers, just like I’d expect the previous prowler to do if she got caught trying to get in my shed again. So I called out, “Get out! I’m calling the cops!” and went back inside, locked the door, and called 911 reporting a prowler.

The deputies got here pretty fast….probably ten minutes or less. Meanwhile the 911 operator kept me on the phone,  and when the deputy showed up with a flashlight I got off the phone.

I waited until he knocked on the door and then went outside and described what had happened. They had already searched the whole property, and the helicopter was overhead too, looking for body heat.

Well, what the investigation turned up was fresh javelina tracks; I guess I verbally threatened a peccary.

It had apparently stood up and knocked the garbage can against the garage, which did make a pretty loud noise that resembled what I had heard (I tried it to see what it sounded like.) The deputy suggested that I could have eaten for a month for free if I had shot it, but, um, ick!

So anyhow it’s kind of funny now but it wasn’t really that funny when it happened. I now have about two hours of sleep under my belt and figure this afternoon will be nap time.

Leave a Reply

Categories

