Posted by: eaubeauhorn | July 31, 2012

A visit to my horn

I visited my horn yesterday; it lives in someone else’s house. I haven’t visited it in quite a few months.

It felt completely familiar, just like my violin does when I visit it. Some things are so much a part of you that time away, no matter how long, doesn’t lower the familiarity.

I was pleased and surprised that I was still able to get a decent sound out of it, and I still had the range I had before, although of course many of those notes were not as secure or clear as they used to be. But it sounded like me playing my horn, and that helped me feel more like me for a few minutes. I had wanted to check whether I needed to lube some slides to keep them from being completely stuck, but the last person who played it had done a marvelous job of making sure it was properly lubricated, and I didn’t have to do anything other than pull out one slide that I think he did not realize was there, the slide that will put the entire horn down a half step. So I put it away with that slide out slightly in case it gets stuck.

I don’t know when I’ll do that again. I did pay for the exposure to someone’s house with an intense night sweat (I’ll have to buy yet another new pillow, sigh) but it was worth it to grab just a few minutes of who I used to be.

Leave a Reply

Categories

