Posted by: eaubeauhorn | April 15, 2008

Celestial Music

Ryan expressed an interest in hearing (pun intended) about my lucid dreams that contain music.

My first experience with this was decades ago, when I was in my late 20’s. I took a course in TM (Transcendental Meditation) and faithfully started the practice, mentally chanting my mantra for 20 minutes a day. I found the meditative state so pleasant, that I simply meditated for as long as I could stay in the state, which was sometimes 40 minutes. At the time I was self-employed giving private music lessons in my home, and I had a lot of free time since the lessons typically started at 2:30 or 3:00 PM in the afternoon.

One morning I was doing my meditation in my usual very comfortable chair, and I reached that point of “no thought” that I liked so much. Then, I started hearing, as if I were wearing stereo headphones, the most beautiful music….it was as if a stringed instrument orchestra were playing inside my head. The sound was as “real” and vivid as any sound I’ve ever heard; I wasn’t “fantasizing” this music; I was hearing it. I was sitting up and very much not asleep, but I was also clearly in an altered state. I found I could “direct” the music to “go” anywhere I wanted, just by willing it. I don’t remember how long I stayed in this state with the music, but the memory of it is still very clear.

I didn’t get into this state very many more times in meditation, but I found that I could access this state in the hypnopompic state (that place between sleeping and being awake, typically occurring as you wake in the morning.) I would set intent (intent is very, very important for experience) sometimes two or three nights in a row, and then in the waking hours I’d hear this same, gorgeous music. Other times, I’d hear music that was equally gorgeous but not “restricted” to a string orchestra; I remember one time I was hearing music that was a full orchestra, including some ethereal pecussion, that I had never “heard” before….and I wished I could remember it well enough to write it down after I became fully conscious. I realized that that was what Mozart did….by his own description, the music appeared in his mind, and all he had to do was write it down. I think he called it “just scribbling” or a similar term.

Responses

  1. I had this happen to me recently and it was so beautiful and had no real rhythm but somehow all the notes came together beautifully. I felt so grateful to have something like this happen and googled it like crazy until I found your blog. Thanks for sharing this. 🙂 I’d like to ask you some more questions as well so please email me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

