Posted by: eaubeauhorn | March 16, 2008

Magnesium and RLS

Update 4-28-08

After only a week on the Mg citrate, I had to go back to the previous form of magnesium, the Mg-L-dihydrate. Apparently the excellent results upon first trying the citrate were an anomoly, because after the honeymoon I reverted to my previous experiences with other forms of Mg…I could not get enough in me to do the job, even with over-the-top intestinal malfunction (i.e., could not leave the house.) I’m on however much Mg I get with my Ca supplement, plus four tabs of of the dihydrate, daily. (the brand name is Mag-Tab SR, made by Niche, and I most highly recommend this to anyone who might have a magnesium deficiency. You can buy it from the maker at http://www.niche-inc.com/niche/magtab.html)

Further note: I found the original post had been hijacked and attributed to someone unknown to me (and perhaps to themselves) and used on a site that sells things. The post was taken without permission and a link was inserted back to this site. So if that is how you found this, know that it was without permission; you should use that knowledge in any buying decision you make.

Original post: (just for reference)

A week ago I decided to try a different magnesium than I was taking. Years ago an online friend had told me to try a powdered Mg citrate product called Calm, for my RLS. I did try it, and taking the suggested dose brought me great intestinal problems in the form of both flatulence and diarrhea. So I gave up on that and took what my doctor had had me on, which was magnesium-L-dyhydrate, which was supposed to be very absorbable at much lower doses (which would alleviate the intestinal problems.) I took enough of that to get rid of my major Mg deficiency symptoms, which were muscle pain, nervousness, and general debility.

But after a friend who recently developed mild RLS got rid of his symptoms by taking Mg citrate, I decided to give it a try again. I put myself on 200 mg with meals, which is 3 a day. I got the runs again, no surprise there. But manageable so far; and….great benefits. I am sleeping much, much better; I have more energy and my mood is much more cheerful (both of which may be due simply to getting more sleep; I really can’t assign cause here.) But I’m feeling enough better that I will continue to take this except in circumstances that I really can’t be sure of being near a rest room, such as when I’m travelling. I remember from a past physician (the one who found my mineral deficiencies and prescribed doses to correct the blood levels of them) that Mg takes six weeks to build up a sufficient store, so it will be another five weeks before I expect to see full benefits from this experiment.

Responses

  1. Hmmm…will definitely have to give that a try. I have RLS (associated with my Transverse Myelitis) and have yet to find an adequate, natural supplement to help relieve this sometimes very uncomfortable sensation in my legs. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

