Posted by: eaubeauhorn | March 15, 2008

Possibly the last galantamine experiment

Well, after a good night’s sleep (I forgot to set the alarm for 4 a.m. to take the galantamine) I took a full 800 mg dose at 6 a.m. The last dose was a week ago, and it was followed by the piracetam as directed.

Well, this time….nothing happened. Nothing at all; zip, zilch, nada. My conclusion….for me at least, this OBE, lucid-dreaming thing is entirely intent. In the book he talks about sound being emphasized via nicotinic receptors, and suggests using a nicotine patch for the short period you are trying for a lucid dream, if you want a lot of music. Well….I got a lot of music (which is not unusual for me, since I am a musician and composer) last week sometime, and I was nowhere near nicotine. Once again, intent. Interesting conclusion. I’m not knocking the entire galantamine thing….you do what works for you, and more power to you if you find something that does work. My brain is so damn strong that it appears that intent is the only thing that works for me, and my intent often gets in my own way. I am so trained to concentrate in what we TMI-ers call C1 (google Monroe Institute) that I just have a hell of a time going elsewhere, even with chemical assistance. My work as an engineer is largely front-end conceptual design of computer programs, followed by writing the code to do what I envisioned; my life outside of work consists largely of learning to play and performing on musical instruments, which also requires an intense mental concentration. So I think I’m just life-long programed, brain-wise, to focus on C1. Any attempt to concentrate on anything habitually brings me to C1, and I have to be in a dream state, asleep, before I’m going to perceive anything else.

Lately, the best experiences I’ve had have been associated with shamanism, and I think I’ll just stay there for the time being.

Responses

  1. I’m right there with you – intention is much more powerful for me than pharmaceuticals. Lucid dreaming seems to come from a more grounded space when it emerges from a ready mind, as opposed to a mind that has been chemically tweaked to fire up the prefrontal cortex.

    I’m interested in hearing more about your music/auditory lucid dreams, but I need to search through your site some more!

  2. Ryan, Thanks for your comment. In response I posted about the music I hear sometimes in altered states.
    EBH


Leave a Reply

Categories

