Posted by: eaubeauhorn | March 1, 2008

Azmira cat food

I have two elderly cats, both of whom I’ve had since they were a few weeks old. In general they have been in good health; one of them is Pure Alley Cat, a dark torti, and pretty robust physically. Clearly she had been a feral kitten, because as soon as I brought her home from the humane society and let her out of the carrier, 1) I could not catch her, and 2) she immediately got in the garbage can and started rooting around. And then when I did try to feed her she would eat nothing but canned tuna fish, the result of someone not knowledgable about cats feeding her before she was captured and taken to the Humane Society. It took a week of slowly inching kitten food into the tuna, before she was 100% on kitten food, and then….she ate like a HORSE! She ate so much that her sides were distended and she waddled around the floor. Still she ended up a small cat, but a very smart one.

The other one appeared to have been fostered; she is half Abyssinian and had one tooth problem that required an extraction, and in general is not as healthy as the alley cat, which is typical of purebreds.

Some years ago I switched food (again) to see if I could find something better for them to eat; Pepper, the alley cat, had a “hot spot” on her side that didn’t heal and also had “cat breath.” Squirrley was, well, squirrel-y, with behavior that was always too much, hyperactive. Up one wall, across the ceiling, down the other wall, all day long. ALL DAY LONG. She was just awful to Pepper, continually jumping on her and chasing her. Squirrley didn’t need much sleep, and she was slowly actually killing Pepper by not letting her sleep. At one point I even put hobbles on Squirrley to slow her down, since she was so out of control.

But as luck would have it I found a solution. I changed from commercial food (I had tried all the “best” ones including “vet” foods) to a locally made one called Azmira. At that point I found out that animal food typically includes parts from dead, diseased, and dying animals, which of course are not allowed in human food (recent slaughterhouse scandals notwithstanding.) To counteract the disease content of the food, it is filled with chemicals. These chemicals were negatively affecting the health of my cats, to where Pepper had the hot spot and the bad breath, and Squirrley was hyperactive. Within one(!) week of their going on the Azmira, both cats’ problems simply went away. Pepper’s hot spot and bad breath disappeared, and Squirrley calmed down to a reasonable level. Squirrley will always be aggressive and domineering, but she was no longer crazy, and the change was almost magical. I have recommended Azmira food to anyone who will listen to me, and some have tried it with success. One friend had a cat that was allergic to an ingredient in it, and he had to keep her on commercial food. She got cancer and died. My cats are now 15 an 16 years old; I just had Pepper, the 16 year old, to the vet for a checkup, and the vet talked me into $180 worth of blood tests because “you need to catch the things that go wrong with cats ahead of time so we can treat them before symptoms manifest.” Well….guess what? All the blood tests were completely normal, and the vet was astonished. I told the vet that I was convinced that the pure food I feed them was the reason for the continuing health of my elderly cats.

Responses

  1. Thanks for posting this. I’ve been looking for a good natural cat food for my furry little friend. I’ll have to check Azmira.


Leave a Reply

Categories

