Posted by: eaubeauhorn | February 15, 2008

Valentine’s Day

Yesterday was Valentine’s Day, 2008. The day before, H. had a look on his face that was part “cat-got-the-canary” and part “I’ve got a secret.” So…I knew something was up. H. is always creative in his celebrations, and I know to expect something nonordinary. It may be what you’d expect from your 8 year old, and it may be something you wouldn’t expect, period. This one was perhaps somewhat more ordinary than usual, but did contain the unexpected.

When I got home from work and checked the mail, the box was empty, which seemed strange. So I checked the box of my neighbor, which is right next to mine (we have country-style mailboxes, out on the road) and it had the usual collection of junk mail in it. So…either my mail got stolen, or H. had been to my house doing pixie-Valentine’s Day things, and then left again, leaving behind whatever surprise he had cooked up.

So I went inside, put my stuff down as usual, and went to the dining room table, which is where he would usually put things. On the table was the stack of mail from my mailbox, and a pink envelope with my name on it. Inside was a card; I don’t know where he found it, but it was perfect, apropos to our unusual relationship. On the front was a picture, of a cat and a dog both standing on hind legs; the white cat was slinky, sexy, and appeared to be hugging the dog, which was wide-eyed, floppy-eared, almost buffoon-ish, and very “dog-ish” as opposed to the very feline-ish cat. Inside the card it said “In our own weird way, we work.” And signed, “Love, H. , the guy with the mustache.” Perfect. Or maybe that is “purrfect.”

In a short while he arrived, and found the large, foil-wrapped organic chocolate heart I had bought for him on my way home from work. I had put a large, red Christmas bow on top of it; they were almost the same size. He was genuinely surprised; I keep secrets well, better than he does. Then he asked if I had looked in the TV room yet, and I had not; there, next to the TV, was a white-with-pink-splashes exercise ball. He had gotten me one for Christmas, but it was too big and an ugly green color…I liked it but had mentioned that I had wanted a white one. So….he shopped around until he found a white one, in the right size, and there it was.

He loves chocolate….when he opened the chocolate heart, we found it was hollow inside, filled with chocolate candies like those you get in a box, with different fillings. I think that was perfect, too, since he was expecting nothing.

All in all, one of the best Valentine’s Days I have ever had.

Leave a Reply

Categories

