Posted by: eaubeauhorn | February 14, 2008

Lucid Dreaming

Recently I stumbled across the book Advanced Lucid Dreaming, The Power of Supplements, and read it.The author, Thomas Yuschak, equates lucid dreaming with out of body experiences (OBEs,) or at least the possibility that a lucid dream can be equivalent to an OBE. And he recognizes that such can be vehicles for spiritual growth. This got my attention, to put it mildly. I’ve had a couple of fully-conscious, spontaneous OBEs in my life, and many lucid dreams and other “unusual” experiences, many by choice through programs at The Monroe Institute in Faber, VA.

However, as I’ve gotten older, these experiences have gotten fewer and less intense, to my consternation. I have a strong desire to connect with Guidance and feel that I fumble my way through my life, not knowing what decisions are needed to further my spiritual development. I’m not content with one-way communication (otherwise known as praying) and want a communication in which I listen more than I talk. This book appeared to offer a means of achieving this, and frankly I jumped on the opportunity. I ordered some of the supplements he refers to, that are OTC and freely available. Since I already take supplements to enhance brain function, I figured this would not be a big deal. His descriptions of supplement-triggered OBEs also matched OBEs I’ve had “on my own,” so that too would be simply a return to what was natural for me when my brain chemistry was younger.

Last night was my first trial; I put a minimal dose (always start small) of galantamine on the bedside table and set a timer for six hours, to wake me after several sleep cycles. He suggests taking 5HTP before bed, because that substance is used by the brain to produce serotonin, which promotes deep, non-REM sleep. Lucid dreams and OBEs tend to occur during REM sleep in the latter part of the night. I was already taking l-tryptophan, which is a 5HTP precursor, so I didn’t change that, only continuing with what I was doing anyway. I went to sleep normally (I have trouble falling asleep, which is why I take the tryptophan) and the timer woke me at about 4 a.m. I then swallowed the galantamine and settled in to see what would happen.

It seemed like nothing was going to happen and then I had that tingly floating feeling that is the first stage of an OBE; I had read in the book of his suggestion to mentally move your legs up and down, through the bed, until they “came loose” and you could roll out or whatever. What I did (and I don’t know where the urge came from…Guidance, maybe?) was mentally flap my arms wildly like a hummingbird, and I did start to separate. I stood partially up and could see the bedroom dimly in black and white. However, I tried to “see” too soon and too clearly and that whomped me back into physical consciousness. But soon I got the sensation again and went at it more slowly; this time I got “out” and started walking around my bedroom. It was not the physical bedroom, although it was similar. Still in black and white and quite dim.

I don’t remember how I got to the next part of the experience; I was not really totally lucid as I’ve been in the past with OBEs; it was still a dream-like consciousness, with partial left brain presence and control. I had set up goals ahead of time of what I wanted to do, but apparently they weren’t strongly enough set in my mind to keep me on track when I became less awake during the experience. I remember a couple of things….one was knowing I could go through solid objects, and using that to go through some kind of wall or door without opening it. Still in black and white, and dim. Another was deciding to fly; I tried it “arms out to the sides” and it didn’t work very well, and then I tried it like the old Superman movies, with arms straight out in front of me, and that worked instantly and really well. At some point though it stopped working and I just ended up lying on the ground with my arms out to fly.

The next part was in full color and I was still partially present left-brain wise, but not what I’d call completely lucid or present. I was visiting a locale that appeared to be in the Earth’s future, a possible future maybe. There were lots of people, and they were using left-over technology from this point in time; they were experts at putting together what we would call junk into functional machinery and vehicles. It appeared that all the natural rescources were used up, except for one thing….they had put together vehicles and I couldn’t figure out where they were getting the gasoline to run them. This entire experience was in full color and “looked normal” in terms of not being distorted. People were cooperating and there didn’t appear to be any Armageddon-like wars going on. I asked one person what year it was (after telling her I was going to ask a silly question) and couldn’t discern what she said, but when I said “the year 2000 what?” she indicated that it was centuries past 2000. This was an interesting experience because I am very concerned about how humans are going to manage to continue as a species after we finish wrecking the planet and how we will manage to continue without blowing each other up.

The book has directions that after the lucid dreaming is over, you should take the second supplement Piracetam, immediately. I did so, with a minimal amount of water. Then later, when I woke up and was getting out of bed, I was astonished to see the Piracetam capsule still on the bed table….I had dreamed I had taken it, and it was so “real” that I believed I had done it physically. Fascinating.

In the book he says not to try to do this with supplements every day because the receptors can get less functional; so I’m planning to do this once a week, on Friday nights, so that if I lose sleep I will have the weekend to recover before I go back to work.

All in all, I’m very happy with this first experiment, and won’t be afraid to use a slightly larger dose of the galantamine.

Leave a Reply

Categories

